Panhandle students awarded scholarships

MITCHELL, Neb. – Students from four Panhandle high schools are this year’s recipients of scholarships from the Roosevelt Public Power District based in Mitchell.

William Howell of Morrill High School received the top award, the Basin Electric/Roosevelt Scholarship Grant, for $1,000. Abby Sinner, also from Morrill, and Justin Spencer, a student at Mitchell High School, are the recipients of a Tri-State Generation and Transmission/Roosevelt Scholarship worth $500 to each student.

Five Roosevelt Scholarship Grants in the amount of $200 were also presented to Banner County High School student Makenna Dahlgrin, and to Sophia Anaya, Dakota Empfield, Jordan Rodriquez and Shianne Shaver, all students at Scottsbluff High School.

The grants are awarded by Roosevelt Public Power District, in conjunction with Basin Electric Power Cooperative, based in Bismarck, N.D., and Tri-State Generation and Transmission Assoc., with headquarters in Westminster, Colo.

Video News